office location :
Messman Law, PLC
2181 Upton Drive, Unit 418 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23454
phone : 757-340-5800
Messman Law, PLC
Contact Us

High BAC DWI

You are here: |

Virginia Beach DWI Lawyers

Vigorous defense from high BAC DWI charges

The threshold blood alcohol content (BAC) for an adult driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Virginia is 0.08 percent. However, just as fines for speeding can increase depending on how fast you were going, penalties for DWI get harsher as BAC rises. If your BAC surpasses 0.14 percent, you’re facing mandatory jail time. Messman Law, PLC skillfully manages DWI cases with aggravating circumstances, such as high BAC or DWI with an underage person in the car. Our established Virginia Beach law firm has the resources to fight your charges and deliver the best possible result.

Penalties for different BAC counts in Virginia DWI cases

Different BAC levels have different consequences for a driver arrested for DUI/DWI in Virginia.

  • BAC below 0.05 carries the presumption that the driver was not impaired by alcohol.
  • BAC between 0.05 and 0.08 indicates the driver may or may not have been impaired by alcohol. Conviction depends on the prosecution demonstrating that a person with a lower BAC could not drive competently because he or she was “under the influence,” though not necessarily legally intoxicated.
  • BAC between 0.08 and 0.14 indicates a driver is impaired. The penalty for a first time DWI includes no mandatory minimum jail time but up to 12 months optional, license revocation for 12 months, a fine from $250 to $2,500 and Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) classes.
  • BAC between 0.15 and 0.20 indicates a driver is impaired. The penalty for a first time DWI is a mandatory minimum of five days jail time up to 12 months, license revocation for 12 months, a fine from $250 to $2,500, mandatory installation of an interlock ignition device and Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) classes.
  • BAC above 0.20 indicates a driver is impaired. The penalty for a first time DWI is a mandatory minimum of 10 days jail time up to 12 months, license revocation for 12 months, a fine from $250 to $2,500, mandatory installation of an interlock ignition device and Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) classes.

Effective challenges to BAC test results

There are many effective ways to challenge forensic tests. At Messman Law, PLC, we use every legal means to raise doubt about the prosecution’s evidence. We firmly negotiate plea settlements whenever appropriate and fight hard at trial when necessary to obtain justice. When you retain Messman Law, PLC, a dedicated DUI lawyer in Virginia stays by your side doing everything possible to minimize the impact of your arrest on your future.

Contact a high BAC DWI attorney in Virginia Beach

Messman Law, PLC defends motorists from Norfolk to Virginia Beach and throughout the Chesapeake region on DWI charges that involve high blood alcohol content. To schedule a confidential consultation, call us at or contact our office online.

Messman Law, PLC

Convenient Beach Tower Location

Major Credit Cards Accepted